Hippo in the Room

In another recent adventure I met with some lovely marketing folk to discuss opportunities to help them with a little bit of improvement to their marketing ways. Being something of a self-styled expert in this arena I thought I could offer them my assistance. I was wrong.

They asked me what I thought of their website. I said it was nice and all that but I wasn’t really the best person to ask. You see, I believe that a data-driven improvement should be based on what actual customers feel about your website rather than the opinion of some office-based numptie who is not even a customer.

photo

I suggested a variety of metrics and reports to look at visitor behavior and develop dynamic data-driven responses to improve the website performance. I even recommended a structure for change management including a rolling process of continuous improvement supported by a longer term, strategic development project.

Apparently they only wanted my opinion on whether it looked good.

Oh well!

 

3 comments

  1. plexity · October 31

    But did they pay you for your opinion?¿ that’s the important thing. I wish I could charge double for answering stupid questions.

    Like

  2. plexity · October 31

    Can I email you please? I’m arthur.battram.plexity AT gmail.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

